23/05/14: Dignity is my freedom

A Palestinian Red Crescent volunteer shares with us a small glimpse of the everyday harassment Palestinians suffer. It is perhaps not an example that will be deemed newsworthy, but shows the endemic racism Palestinians suffer everyday. Far from being isolated acts of criminality, as Apartheid Israel likes to portray, Palestinians endure a degrading, dehumanizations at the hands of Apartheid Israel and it’s illegal settlers. Here is one story:

Something happened to me today and I wanted to share it with you as it really bothered me. I was going to Nablus with my father. We got out of the taxi at Za’tara checkpoint. I crossed the road to pass through the checkpoint and was walking normally. Some settlers were standing where we were walking last. It was myself, my father and another man.

One of the settlers started to talk to me in Hebrew. His voice sounded angry. I said “OK” and just ignored her. Then she followed me and stopped me as I was walking. Other settlers then came and surrounded me and started shouting at me because they didn’t want me to pass in front of them.

My father was scared for me and grabbed my hand and dragged me, telling me to “just ignore them”, and we crossed the road from the other side.

I couldn’t ignore them but also I couldn’t fight and tell them this is our land not yours. I felt helpless. I was so frustrated. Someone had come and told you, you’re not allowed to pass from here, this is mine.  But this is my land not there’s.

ﻣﺴﺘﻮﻃﻨﻴـــﻦ ﻭ ﻣﺎ ﺍﺩﺭﺍﻙ ﻣﺎ ﺍﻟﻤﺴﺘﻮﻃﻨﻴـــﻦ

ﺣﺎﺩﺛﺔ ﺣﺼﻠﺖ ﻣﻌﻲ ﺍﻟﻴﻮﻡ .. ﻭ ﺍﺯﻋﺠﺘﻨﻲ ﺟﺪﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍ

ﻛﻨﺖ ﻣﺮﻭﺡ ﺍﻟﻴﻮﻡ ﻋﻠﻰ ﻧﺎﺑﻠﺲ ﻭ ﻧﺰﻟﻨﺎ ﻣﻦ ﺍﻟﺴﻴﺎﺭﺓ

ﻋﻨﺪ ﻣﺨﺼﻮﻡ ﺯﻋﺘﺮﺓ

ﺍﻟﻤﻬﻢ ﻗﻄﻌﺖ ﺍﻟﺸﺎﺭﻉ ﻭ ﻣﺸﻴﺖ ﻋﺎﺩﻱ .. ﻛﺎﻥ ﻓﻲ

ﻣﺴﺘﻮﻃﻨﻴﻦ ﻭﺍﻗﻔﻴﻦ ﻋﻠﻰ ﺍﻟﻤﻮﻗﻒ

ﻛﻨﺖ ﺍﻧﺎ ﻭ ﺍﺑﻮﻱ ﻭ ﻛﻤﺎﻥ ﺻﺎﺣﺐ.. ﺍﻟﻤﻬﻢ ﻭﻗﻔﺖ

ﻭﺣﺪﺓ ﻣﺴﺘﻮﻃﻨﺔ ﻗﺎﻝ ﻭ ﻫﻲ ﻣﻌﺼﺒﺔ ﺑﻠﺸﺖ ﺗﺨﺮﺑﺶ

ﺑﺎﻟﻌﺒﺮﻱ ﻭ ﻣﻦ ﻫﺎﻟﻜﻢ ﻛﻠﻤﺔ ﺍﻟﻲ ﺑﻌﺮﻓﻬﻢ ﻓﻬﻤﺖ ﺍﻧﻬﺎ

ﺑﺘﺤﻜﻲ ﺍﻧﺘﻮﺍ ﻟﻴﺶ ﻣﺎﺷﻴﻴﻦ ﻣﻦ ﻫﻮﻥ ﻫﺎﻱ ﻃﺮﻳﻖ

ﻟﻠﻴﻬﻮﺩ ﻭ ﺑﺲ

ﺍﻧﺎ ﻗﻠﺘﻠﻬﺎ ﻃﻴﺐ ﻭ ﻣﺎ ﺍﻋﻄﻴﺘﻬﺎ ﺍﻫﻤﻴﺔ ﻭ ﺿﻠﻴﺖ

ﻣﺎﺷﻲ … ﺍﻻ ﻫﻲ ﺑﻨﺖ ﺍﻟﻜﻠﺐ ﻟﺤﻘﺘﻨﻲ ﻭﻗﻔﺘﻨﻲ ﻭ

ﺍﺟﺎ ﻛﻤﺎﻥ ﻣﺴﺘﻮﻃﻨﻴﻦ

ﺻﺎﺭﻭﺍ ﻳﺼﺮﺧﻮﺍ ﻭ ﻣﺎ ﺑﺪﻫﻢ ﻳﺨﻠﻮﻧﻲ ﺍﻗﻄﻊ 10 ﻣﺘﺮ

ﺑﺲ ﻣﻦ ﺟﻨﺒﻬﻢ

ﺍﻧﺎ ﻣﺎ ﻋﺮﻓﺖ ﺍﻃﻨﺶ ﻭ ﺍﺗﻘﺎﺗﻞ ﻣﻌﻬﻢ ﻭ ﻻ ﺍﻗﻮﻟﻬﻢ ﻻ

ﻫﺎﻱ ﻟﻠﻔﻠﺴﻄﻴﻨﻴﺔ ﻣﺶ ﺍﻟﻜﻢ

ﺍﺑﻮﻱ ﺧﺎﻑ ﻋﻠﻲ ﺳﺤﺒﻨﻲ ﻣﻦ ﺍﻳﺪﻱ ﻭ ﻗﻠﻲ ﺍﺧﺘﺼﺮ

ﺷﺮ ﻳﺎﺑﺎ ﻭ ﺍﻗﻄﻊ ﺍﻟﺸﺎﺭﻉ ﻭ ﺭﺩﻳﺖ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ

ﺷﻌﻮﻭﻭﺭ ﻣﺰﻋﺞ ﺟﺪﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍ ﻟﻤﺎ ﺗﻜﻮﻥ ﻓﻲ ﺑﻠﺪﻙ ﻭ ﻳﻴﺠﻲ

ﺣﺪ ﻳﻘﻮﻟﻚ ﻣﻤﻨﻮﻉ ﺗﻤﺮ ﻣﻦ ﻫﻮﻥ ﻫﺎﻱ ﺍﻟﻨﺎ

ﺍﻱ ﺍﻟﻠﻪ ﻳﻠﻌﻦ ﺍﺑﻮﻫﻢ ﻛﻼﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺍﺏ

 

This is just one of so many examples of the everyday racism and harassment Palestinians suffer. SFP asks everyone around the world to join the Palestinians request for boycott, divestment and sanctions of Apartheid Israel. To find out how to boycott please click here.

Dignity is our freedom

 

Leave a Reply

